HashtagOverused

Image Credits: Toronto Realty Blog

I’m getting there on the 30 day writing challenge. I only have 3 “days” left of it.

The challenge for day 28 is much more exciting than day 27’s (but don’t get too excited…it’s not THAT great. Today’s challenge is to write about a word or phrase that I overuse.

This came easy and without thought for me. The phrase I overuse the most is “I Know For A Fact”. 

I’m not sure how this started, but I’ve been saying it for a few years now. I say it when I’m arguing a point or disputing something with someone and I know I’m right. I have a really great memory for events and life occurrences. I rarely ever forget anything and the things I remember are often stupid, trivial things that most people would forget (like what I wore 20 years ago, a toy my sister’s best friend’s second cousin played with, etc.). It’s a shame I remember these stupid things but not more important things like how to do algebra or geometry lol. A lot of times people try to argue with me about a point or claim there’s no way I can remember that (my mom especially does this to me) and my response is always “I know for a fact!”. Now everyone makes fun of me for saying that. I guess this is kind of my weird way of saying “There’s absolutely no way I’m wrong. I’ve got my research (even though I don’t) and I know in black and white, verified, undeniably, this is an inarguable fact that I’m write.”

 

How about you? What phrase or words do you overuse the most? When do you find yourself saying them the most often?

