Morning-Routine

Image Credits: Tony Hendley

Well, I’m so awful at completing May’s 30-Day Writing Challenge that I’m beginning to wonder if I’ll ever manage to complete it by the end of June lol. I just get so busy especially this past week with starting my new job at Penn Medicine and learning how to navigate the city and take public transportation.

But anyway, I left off on day 22 which tells me to describe my morning routine. This is a pretty easy challenge. I’ll start off with the weekdays and then move onto the weekends.

On the weekends my goal is to wake up and start getting ready at 4, but that rarely ever happens. I like to get up super early so that I have plenty of time to read my bible and say my morning prayers. I can get by with getting up at 5 though. In a perfect world though, my day starts at 4.

I’ll look at my phone to check the time and see if I received any messages overnight. If I did, I’ll respond to them if I can be quick. If it’s something that requires more thought, time, and energy, I may save it for later.

Next I use the bathroom, wash my hands, and plug in my straightening iron to give it some time to heat up. I’ll take my hair out of the hair ties and shake it around a bit. I always get a shower the night before and sometimes let my hair air dry overnight. If it’s still damp, I’ll go over to my parent’s bathroom and blow dry it for a few minutes.

Once I ensure that my hair is dry enough for straightening, I continue to give my straightening iron a bit more time to heat up and I head on over to the kitchen. I turn on the Keurig and brew myself a cup of coffee. I don’t drink it right away though as I need it to cool. I pour myself a big glass of water and then take my morning medicine: 2 tabs of aleve to help relieve the pain in my hands that comes from being a writer and working on a computer all day, 4 airborne tabs to keep me from getting sick, and 1 allergy tab. Then I head to my room and prepare my breakfast (I have my own fridge in my room) which is almost always some kind of fruit mixed with chia seeds and either goat or feta cheese.

I take my breakfast with me into the bathroom and eat it as I straighten my hair. I straighten about half of it which takes about 15-20 minutes and then I take a break to rescue my coffee from the keurig and to throw out my trash from breakfast. Then I resume my hair straightening while sipping away at my coffee. It usually only takes me about 10-15 minutes to complete.

When I finish straightening my hair I go back in my room and get dressed while finishing my coffee. Sometimes this takes just a few minutes and sometimes it takes forever because I can’t decide what to wear. After I finish getting dressed I move back to my bathroom and put my contacts in. Then I do my makeup.

Once I’m dressed with my contacts in and makeup on I head back to the kitchen and brew myself another cup of coffee and grab out my bible and read the passages listed on my daily bible reading plan. When I finish with those I read my daily passage from my Guide Posts daily devotional book. Then I say my daily prayers.

When I notice that the clock says 6, I go back in my bathroom and brush my teeth and swish around some mouthwash. I start waking my dad up by 6:20. He usually doesn’t actually get up until 6:30 though.

After my dad is up I start gathering my things for work. I carry a backpack now because it makes it easier for traveling to and from the speedline, subway, and walking to and from work. I make sure I bring a hoodie in my backpack, a bottle of water, pack my lunch, a pair of sneakers, and a book. I also get my purse ready by making sure to pack extra cochlear batteries, my glasses in case I lose a contact,gum, my cellphone and charger, and plenty of money to pay for my patco and subway tickets/tokens. Once I have everything gathered and packed, I grab my sunglasses, ID badge, and dad’s car keys and head out to warm up the car.

I load all of my belongings into the car and start the car and put the defrosters on. Dad usually comes out about 10 minutes later and then we head out to the PATCO station in Woodcrest.When we get to Woodcrest dad drops me off by the doors and I head over to the machine to buy a roundtrip ticket. Then I wait for the train to come.

When the train arrives I get on as soon as I can and find a railing to hold on to (usually right by the doors) and stand up for the ride. Some gentlemen usually offer their seats to me, but I politely decline. I’m far too anxious of a person to actually sit down on PATCO. I like to stand by the doors so that it’s easy for me to get in and out and I won’t have to worry about getting trapped and missing my stop. Also, this way I can look out the window and see where I am. It can be hard to hear them announce the stops and they don’t always show it on the screens.

I get off of the PATCO at 8th and market — the first stop over the bridge. Then I proceed to take the Frankfurt L subway train. I have to find the sales office to buy 2 roundtrip tokens. It usually takes me awhile to find the stupid office, but I’m getting better. I’m never in too much of a hurry, because I pretty much always have plenty of time. I’m always early for work — I never really have to fear being late. When I buy the tokens the old man at the sales office laughs at me because I stumble on my words. I guess most people just ask for “round trip tokens”, but then there’s me…I utter “Can I please have roundtrip tokens for the Frankfurt L Subway Westbound to Philadelphia”? I probably don’t have to use so many words, but I’m always paranoid of getting on the wrong train and going to the wrong place. It’s better to be safe than sorry.

I get my tokens and send them through to the guard and go through the security gate and wait for the subway train to arrive. Once it arrives I ride it to 34th and market. Then I get up and walk about a quarter of a mile to the Science building where I work. As I walk in I pull out my ID badge to show it to the guard so she knows I belong there. Once she nods her approval I continue onto the elevators where I take the elevator to the 2nd floor and walk into suite 230 where my office is located, ready to take on a full day of work.

My schedule is vastly different on the weekend. On the weekends I don’t have work which means no PATCO or Subway. I usually don’t wake up until around 8:30-9. Then I use the bathroom, wash up, grab some water, take my medicine, and then finish getting ready by putting my contacts in and getting dressed.

Once I’m dressed and ready to go, I grab out my aquacase and hook them up. I’m about to walk outside for a few hours where I might get pretty sweaty, so it’s good to have them on to keep out the sweat and moisture. Then I log onto my computer and search through garagesalefinder.com to see who’s having a yard sale and where. I write down a few addresses on a post it with notes on how far they are from my home and then I type in the closest one to my home in google maps. I grab my bag with my wallet and some water and swing it onto my back, grab my keys and sunglasses and phone, and head out the door.

I never know where I’m going, but that’s half the fun. I follow the GPS on my phone to the nearest yard sale. I usually don’t see anything good, but I appreciate the long walks and being surrounded by nature, it’s refreshing. I try to go to 3 of them, but it depends on the time — most are over by 1 or 2.

Every other weekend I have an appointment with my hairdresser scheduled at 2:30, so on those weekends I try to be home by 11 to give me time to get a shower and to get ready. If I don’t have an appointment with her that week, I may stay out longer.

If it rains or is too hot (or in the case of winter/fall, too cold) then I opt out of my walk and just stay in and work on cleaning the house, my room, and my bathroom in the morning instead.

This pretty much sums up what my mornings are like. How about you guys? Do you have any specific morning routines?

