51

Image Credits: The Pursuit of God

So…I ruined my good streak yesterday by not posting. I just got too busy with yard sailing, my hair appointment, spending some time at the pool, making dinner, etc. that by the time I had time to blog, I didn’t have the energy for it. I wanted to make this good rather than just throwing any ol’ thing together.

Anyway, I left off on Day 21 of the 30 Day Writing Challenge. Today I am instructed to look up my horoscope and reflect on it and whether or not it fits me. Except I’m not going to do that.

You see, there used to be a time when I was obsessed with Astrology. I still have a couple of books on it. It fascinated me, but it was beyond a fascination: it became my obsession. I am a Taurus and I always thought the characteristics of a Taurus was spot-on for me: stubborn, passionate lovers, foodies, ambitious, reliable, and at times possessive. But my obsession with astrology went beyond just looking up my horoscope and focusing on Taurus characteristics. I’d look up others horoscopes and judge them based on what their horoscopes said and I’d judge their personality and our compatibility based on the traits of their signs.

Horoscopes sound innocent enough, but when you truly base your life around them, that’s when they can become dangerous. I remember a time about 6 years ago when I befriended a older man who was a mutual friend of some of my friends and who I went to high school and later college with. We were talking and we both liked each other. We’d make plans to see each other, but they never ever ended up working out for us (we actually had a huge blow out fight over this, but that’s another story). I was a Taurus and he was Cancer. The sign for Cancer is a Crab because sometimes they can be kind of well, “crabby”. They also have a tendency to hide in their shell at times. Taurus and Cancer are supposed to be the ideal match in the world of astrology. If my memory is correct, there is no other sign that is supposed to be better for a Taurus than a crab. We both knew this and this became our hope that things would work out great for us.

We never had one single date. We never saw each other beyond school. There was never any hanging out or anything. He’s currently engaged to someone else. Perfect match? Obviously, the world of astrology got that one wrong when it comes to us.

I’d also use astrology to judge his mood all the time. We’d talk every night over AIM (that was the big thing those days). I didn’t have a cell phone with unlimited texting at the time — just a tracfone so texting was too expensive and I couldn’t call because this was before I had my cochlear implants and therefore I couldn’t hear on the phone. Before we talked I’d look up his horoscope. It would often tell me if he was going to be in a good or bad mood and what I could expect. It wasn’t always right, but I put all of my hope and faith in that and trusted in that instead.

Where was God in all of this?

Absent. He was completely absent. I was 20 years old. I was a Christian, but I didn’t really “know” God. If you asked me what my religion was I’d tell you Christianity in a heartbeat, but astrology would have been a more honest answer, since that is where I put my hope, faith, and trust and what I based most of my life on. It was dangerous, stupid, and wrong.

Now that I am deeper in my faith and my understanding of Christ I have since given up on astrology. It’s not real and I have no business basing my life around it — Christ is the center of my life. The bible warns time and time again on the dangers of astrology and mysticism. We see in  Leviticus 19:26 that the bible says,  “Do not practice divination or sorcery”. Astrology is a form of divination or sorcery. Deuteronomy 18:9-12 & 14 also says, “Do not learn to imitate the detestable ways of the nations there… The nations you will dispossess listen to those who practice sorcery or divination. But as for you, the Lord your God has not permitted you to do so… Anyone who does these things is detestable to the Lord.” The practice of astrology is a major sin in the Christian religion. The reason is because we are to put all of our faith and trust in God, not sorcery. God already knows every day of our lives — he is the author of our lives. And he will reveal his plan to us at the appropriate time and not a day sooner. Learning our fate through astrology can only bring us great harm as we do not understand what is promised to us in the future yet (and often times it will not be accurate anyway).

Astrology may seem fun and innocent at first, but underneath it all lays the potential for great danger, and it is sinful at best. I’m more than happy to put my astrological days behind me and embrace Christianity and God’s given plan for me and to wait for his perfect timing instead.

