petpeeves

Image Credits: Voxy

Whoa, look at me blogging 2 days in a row! It almost makes up for the fact that I’m still only on Day 15 of the 30-day writing challenge that should’ve ended like a week ago…almost.

Today’s challenge is to write about 3 of my pet peeves. This is an easy challenge for me. My three pet peeves are abbreviations, bad grammar, and bad manners. Here’s a breakdown for each:

1. Abbreviations.  I can almost guarantee that you’ll never meet someone that hates abbreviations more than I do. I am definitely guilty of using them, but I cringe every time. Sometimes using abbreviations is necessary because you are truly pressed for time and need to write something down as quickly as possible (this was especially true back in my journalism days when I had to write several messy notes down and wanted to get as much information down as possible when interviewing a subject).Other times I have to use them to save space on paper or Twitter or whatever. Sometimes it’s for SEO purposes, more people use the acronyms then spell out a word, which means the abbreviation could be my keyword I’m trying to rank for (or people hardly even know what the abbreviation stands for, as is the case of the word SEO). But regardless of what the reason is, I still hate abbreviations. When I see an abbreviation I think it’s a shortcut for writing which means it requires less thought and effort, or to say it in more simple terms: it’s lazy. I hate laziness, especially when it comes to writing.

2. Bad grammar. You better believe I’m going to proof-read this post and try to catch as many major grammar errors/typos as possible before I hit “publish” after complaining about how much I hate bad grammar. I understand that we all make mistakes from time to time and typos are more frequent than ever before thanks to smart phones. I’m not talking about people who have the improper use of a comma or whatever. This is what I’m referring to:

i Rly h8 ppl wh0 TyP3 LyK3 Diz.

That might be cute and cool when you’re like, 11, but no self-respecting adult should ever type like that. It makes you look stupid, uneducated, and as if you’re incapable of writing in complete sentences. I would argue that it’s also lazy, but not really. It takes more effort to tYp3 LyK3 D!z than it does to type like this. Save yourself the time and effort and trouble, just write like a normal human being, please.

3. Bad manners. For those of you who don’t know me that well, I’m kind of obsessed with the 1920’s and F. Scott Fitzgerald’s works where he focused on the roaring 20’s. These books captivate me because the people seemed so much more classier than they do today. One of the biggest differences between the people from the 1920’s and the people today? They had manners! Imagine that! Now I’m not saying we all need to walk like we have sticks up our backs and to be perfect all the time (no one is perfect but God), but what ever happened to basic manners? You know how many times people slam the door in my face when I’m entering/exiting the gym? Too many to count. That drives me insane. It takes about 2 seconds to hold the door open. Are you really in that much of a hurry? Another one for you: people who refuse to say please or thank you or even greet/acknowledge you. I notice this the most often in the store. I worked in retail/food service collectively for about 4 years. People are rude and ignorant, sometimes you work really long brutal hours, and you pretty much never feel like being there. That doesn’t mean you should be rude to people, though. It doesn’t take that much effort to say “Hi, how are you” at the beginning of an order and “thank you, have a nice day” at the end. It is a big deal, a very big deal. If I notice someone is unusually friendly, I’ll give them a bigger tip when applicable (Bain’s deli in Camden probably made more money off me and my tips than actual food I brought…they were so nice that I gladly tipped them way more than I should’ve) and that interaction could be the only interaction a person receives all day…you never know. It pays to just take an extra second or two to practice good manners and be nice to people…trust me.

 

These are three of my biggest pet peeves. Do you agree with any or all of them? What are your pet peeves?

