gv0d42isr5c8 (1)

Image Credits: The Sample Spectrum 

Hey guys! For once I got home from work at a (somewhat) decent time and actually have some free time! I’m also not completely dead (…yet lol) so I figured I’d double up on my 30 Day Writing Challenge and do Day #7: What Tattoos Do You Have and What Do They Mean?

Well, I have no tattoos. I also have no desire to have them. I don’t really hold it against others who have them. Some of them are pretty neat to look at. But they just personally aren’t right for me. Here’s Why I Don’t (And Never Will) Have Any Tattoos.

1. I’m too indecisive. First off, what in the world would I get a tattoo of? When I was in middle school I thought I’d eventually get a tattoo in memorial of my friend who committed suicide when I was 12. Now that I’m older, I don’t like that idea. His death was not at all honorable, it was tragic and wrong and not something I’d like to think about all the time, let alone make a part of my body. And if I do that for him, what about all of the other important people in my life that have died? Am I going to get them tattooed on my body as well? And I make a lot of really bad decisions. A tattoo is permanent. What seems like a great tattoo idea today probably won’t seem so great in 20 years. I’d rather not take my chances.

2. They’re expensive! Money is something I don’t have much of. When I do have it, I like to treat myself. But a tattoo will almost always cost me at least $100. So wait, I’m going to shell out over $100 for someone to give me needles and put some ink on my skin? There was nothing wrong with my skin before. If I want ink on my skin I’ll draw on myself. No pain and it will only cost me a few dollars to buy a sharpie! I’ll save my money for concert tickets, clothes, a new purse, or something else.

3. I am unsure of whether or not they are “sinful”. This is probably the number one reason why I’ll never get a tattoo. I am unsure if it goes against the bible and my Christian faith. Leviticus 19:28 says, “Do not cut your bodies for the dead or put tattoo marks on yourselves. I am the LORD.” The only issue with this verse though, it is Old Testament law, so are we still to obey this? The new testament is a little unclear about tattoos. However, in Corinthians and some other verses it says that the body is a temple and should not be defiled. Usually this refers to sexual immorality. There is 1 Corinthians 19-20 which states, “Or do you not know that your body is a temple of the Holy Spirit within you, whom you have from God? You are not your own, for you were bought with a price. So glorify God in your body.” but we don’t know if they are referring to tattoos here. I personally have a hard time believing anyone will go to hell for having a tattoo. Some of the holiest people I know have tattoos. I have many Christian friends with tattoos and have met many priests with tattoos. Are they damned to hell because of their tattoos? I doubt it. Still, I am unsure whether or not this is sinful and goes against God. I’d rather not take my chances.

4. I don’t want to be just another trend. EVERYONE and their mom has a tattoo these days — literally. I don’t think half of these people even like tattoos. No, I KNOW IT. I know it because at one time, I thought they were pretty cool (I still think they are cool, they just aren’t right for me personally) and everyone would make fun of me for liking them thinking I was “weird”. Now those same kids are the ones with 8+ tattoos. But what happens when it’s not a trend anymore? Getting those tattoos removed will be expensive and painful. I’ve never been a fan of most “trends”. I mean if I like something I’ll wear it, participate, whatever. But I don’t like the way tattoos have exploded into this huge trend over the years. They aren’t as unique or special as they once were.

5. I fear how they’re look in the future. Your tattoo might look great when you first get it, but what about 20 years down the road when you’re old, covered in wrinkles, and the ink fades? Have you ever saw an old person with an old tattoo that looks good? If so, please send me a picture of it because I’m pretty sure I never seen one. Also, I want kids one day. If I get a tattoo now, it will stretch when I become pregnant and it will be ruined. Sure, my skin is naturally going to stretch, get wrinkled, and nasty as I age, but I don’t need to make that worse with a tattoo.

6. They kind of freak me out. You have to be so careful with tattoos. How do you know that that tattoo parlour as clean as they claim it is? How do you know that artist is REALLY licensed and knows what they’re doing? You really don’t, you just have to hope for the best. And it’s a needle. If it’s dirty, you might get HIV or AIDS or something and die. It’s rare, but it happens. Is it really worth the risk? I don’t think so. Plus, I hear it hurts. A LOT. And when it’s all done, you still have to worry about caring for it. Isn’t it true you can’t get it wet for a certain period of time?And it will itch and your skin will peel and if you’re not careful you can get an infection. It also might fade. That sounds like more trouble than it’s worth. No thanks.

I have no tattoos and these days, for someone my age, that’s extremely rare. But I wouldn’t want it any other way. Weird or not, I’m perfectly happy with my clean slate of a body that is not  covered in any ink.

