music-inspires-creative-writing

Image Credits: Get Sparked

I’ve been on a pretty good writing kick as I continue on my first draft of my young adult novel about teenage depression/suicide. I usually get between 1,000-2,500 words in each day. The first four chapters seemed to come naturally to me. I had no problem with finding the inspiration and coming up with topics to discuss in my novel. However, once I hit chapter 5 writer’s block struck and I had no clue what to write. I know the  general direction I want my novel to go in and how I want it to end, but I struggled to figure out where to go next or which steps to take to get to the end. I’m only about 13,500 words in…way too soon to end it! Plus there are still many questions/issues to address before reaching the final conclusion!

One thing that helped me beat my writer’s block was music. As a teenager (and even to this day) I was absorbed by music. What I listened to depended largely on what I felt. Most of my favorite musicians and songs were my favorite because of the lyrics and the messages they gave me. I feel as though their is a song for every emotion/time period of my life.

My novel centers primarily along the themes of teenage depression/suicide. The teens in my novel are bursting with tons of emotion. Music is a way they can tell each other and readers what they are feeling without having to actually say it. I was also able to incorporate music directly into the plot of my novel. One way I was able to do this was by creating two working playlists for two of my characters…my main character, Rachel, and her crush/friend James. I gave Rachel considerably more songs since she is the novel’s central character and it is told in her view where you get to see ALL of her thoughts, feelings, and emotions on a first-hand basis. I will post the playlists along with videos below, but to keep from spoiling anything I will not explain further. Feel free to post your reactions/possible predictions to the songs I choose in the comments!

Rachel’s Playlist:

1.      Demi LovatoSongs

  •  SkyScraper
  • Trainwreck
  • Warrior
  • Give Your Heart a Break


2. Selena Gomez Songs:

  • Tell Me Something I Don’t Know
  • Who Says

Sick Of You

3.  Black Vile Brides Songs

  • Perfect Weapons

We Stitch These Wounds

4. Bullet For My Valentine

  • A Place Where You Belong


5. Palisades

  • Outcasts
  • Immortal


6. Twenty One Pilots Songs

  •  Forests
  • Kitchen Sink

James’s Playlist:

1. These Hearts

Friends Don’t Let Friends Die Alone

2. Bullet For My Valentine Songs

  • All These Things I Hate
  • Curses
  • Pretty on the Outside
  • The End

3. System of a Down Songs

  •  Chop Suey
  • Toxicity
  • Aerials
  • Lonely Day
  • Question
