Rolling-Stone-Magazine-Logo

Image Credits: Muse Online 

Okay, so here’s the thing: I’m in the middle of job searching and an opportunity to be Editor and Chief at Rolling Stone Magazine pops up on my LinkedIn. They say they want 7 years of experience. I’m a recent college grad. My English and Writing Arts Bachelor’s degrees aren’t even 6 months old yet and I still work a lousy retail job as I anxiously wait to land that first big writing/editing/social media job. 

But this is my DREAM job. I wrote mock cover letters/resumes for it back in AP English when I was in high school. No other job even compares to this one. I can’t just pass it up. I have to at least try. 

Wasn’t Walt Disney the one that said, “If you dream it you do it”? Well, this is my dream. This is my big dream. If I dream it I can do it, right? Maybe not now, but one day.

Walt-Disney-Dream-Quote

Image Credits: Positive Life Quotes

For now it can’t hurt to try. What’s the worst that can happen, they say no like the 50 others places I applied to have already? This is a chance worth taking, my friends.

For those of you who are curious, here is the cover letter I sent begging for a chance at my dream job:

Kimberly Erskine
(phone number omitted here)
kimerskine3@gmail.com

Rolling Stone
Allison Elfenbein
HR Generalist at Wenner Media

Dear Ms. Elfenbein:

I am writing to you in regards to the open Editor and Chief position for Rolling Stone Magazine. I heard about this job posting through LinkedIn.com and immediately filled with excitement because this is my number one dream job. It seems like just yesterday I was making mock resumes/cover letters in my AP English class to send to Rolling Stone. I still have those cover letters and resumes, but even more than that, I still have the dream of one day, hopefully soon, seeing my name listed as Editor and Chief for Rolling Stone magazine.

I believe that honesty is the best policy in all aspects of life, but especially when it comes to my career. It is important to remain as professional, honest, and respectful as possible. I will be honest with you now: I do not have the 7+ years of experience required for this job. I am a recent college graduate from Rowan University. I have a newly issued BA in Writing Arts, a second BA in English, and a Concentration in Creative Writing. There are other applicants that will have twice as much experience as I do. Some may even be OVER qualified for this job. It is my hope that by some miracle you are willing to give me a chance. Others may possess more experience, but I possess the dream and the desire, passion, and will to succeed. I have the ability to learn new skills and to bring my already established skills to Rolling Stones to help the magazine remain one of the most popular magazines in the world.

I believe that despite my lack of experience I have what it takes to succeed at Rolling Stone. Some people get excited when they see or hear about their favorite celebrity winning a Grammy or an Emmy. That’s how I feel when my favorite celebrity graces the cover of Rolling Stone. I always viewed Rolling Stone magazine as being on top of the world in regards to other entertainment/pop culture magazines. As Editor and Chief of Rolling Stone magazine I would work diligently to bring that sense of passion and excitement across to my readers.

I am always up to date on the latest pop-culture and entertainment news and trends. I am a keen listener and I pay attention to specific details and feedback from others. I would use these skills to ensure effective coverage of important and breaking news stories for Rolling Stone’s readers. I would listen to their feedback and take it in consideration when making major decisions for the magazine such as which stories to assign, story placement, cover story ideas, and more.

I thank you for taking the time to read my cover letter and resume and pray that you will give me a chance to make my dreams come true and succeed at Rolling Stone magazine. It would be a pleasure to work with you and the rest of the staff of talented writers, editors, photographers, etc. doing what I am the most passionate about. I hope to hear from you soon.

Sincerely,

Kimberly Erskine

