I met with Professor Wolff last week to go over my website. It’s a mess. Well, it was, but I’m going to be fixing it. The main problem with my website is that it didn’t really say anything about my writing or work. I have a hard time identifying myself as writer or figuring out how to let my work speak for itself. I feel like I need to tell someone who I am and what I do instead of showing people what I’ve done.  However, through the help of Professor Wolff, I was able to come up with an overall plan that will make my website look much more professional and show who I am as a writer.

Updated-WireFrame-Number-3

 

The new plan will have a Good Reads widget on the left side (if I can find one…haven’t had much luck with that so far…), two feature articles taking up the most space in the center, and a twitter widget on the right side. Using a 1200 px grid with a 1180 px content width, The Good Reads and Twitter widgets will each take up approximately 15.254% of the website leaving the rest of the space for the separate feature articles. The feature articles are the main point of focus, as they should be.

Professor Wolff also helped me to understand the grid system a bit more. Together we broke down the 1200px grid with an 1180 px content width.

break-down-of-grid-system

 

 

I’m still not sure I have a 100% grasp of how to use grids. Web design is a very complex thing and it might very well be impossible to fully understand everything 100%, but I definitely have a better understanding of the importance of it. The grids will make things more organized and flexible so that my website can adhere to web standards and work better on a variety of platforms. If I can’t find a good reads widget or decide that I don’t want one I can use that extra space to add in another feature article. I will need to re-do the math and re-configure the width settings though in order to keep it flexible. Likewise, I may decide to make my Twitter widget wider. This is something that I’m very likely to do as I currently have content pouring out of the container. If I do this I will once again have to adjust my other width settings with mathematical equations to keep it flexible.

Web designs, especially grids, is not an easy thing. However, I have a greater sense of confidence and better understanding of how it works and what needs to be done to make my website more flexible.

