Last Thursday in class we began figuring out the widths for our websites. Or if you’re me, kind of stared blankly at graph paper trying to make sense of it all.

I’m not sure what’s so confusing about all of this for me. I always joke about being allergic to numbers/math. I’m horrible at math and it always confuses me. I’m pretty bad at measuring things as well. And graphing, don’t even get me started with that.

I was reading Ethan Marcotte’s Responsive Web Design as required for my Internet Writing and Studies class and tried to make sense of it. I was a little bit confused by the equation mentioned in the book target/context = result. I got that the context is the width of the screen. In the case of my Internet Writing and Studies class, we’re using a 1200px width. But where does the target come from? Is that up to the web designer’s choosing/imagination? Do I just take a guess and say “I want my picture to be 200px, or this box or whatever” and then add that in? Or is there some kind of trick to figuring out the target that I’m not seeing?

If my target is 200px and my context is 1200 then it would be 200/1200=0.1666666 which compared to some of the results mentioned in Marcotte’s book sounds about right. But then there’s another question. Just what do I do with that result?

It’s like I’m sort of kind of beginning to understand the equation for widths, but I don’t understand how to use it or what to do with it. If anyone can help me make sense of anything, please do so!

